Join 2,575 other subscribers
My ramblings on the stuff that holds it all together
If you deploy your VM’s from a master image using Virtual Center’s Deploy from template functionality (below).
When you try and delete a virtual machine you’ve created from disk
You get the following prompt
Are you sure you want to delete this VM and it’s associated base disk?
Please note if other VMs are sharing this base disk, they will no longer have access to this disk.
This does not refer to the master VM image you deployed from; in other words if you delete the VM it does not break all other VMs deployed from the initial template.
One other point to note, when you perform “Deploy virtual machine from template” operation, the target field (below) is actually the name of the base image you are cloning, rather than the name of the eventual VM you are creating from it – odd, but that’s how it is (below)